Posted by: Michael | 22/09/2012

Sunset and night

I have been trying to take multiple images, 5-10 images, of the ocean and night sky then combine them into a workable image. I am shooting at 1 minute f5.6 ISO200. I know its a technique used by astronomers – rather then do one long exposure they do multiple exposures of the same object then combine them; this holds down random noise. So far I have not been successful.

Fire Island at night

Fire Island at night

Fire Island at night

Fire Island at night

Fire Island at night

Fire Island at night

Responses

  1. Is there a reason why you use such a wide aperture? When I have shot the Golden Gate Bridge at night I have used f22 to ensure I have all objects in the foreground sharp. Give that a try and see if that helps.

  2. Thanks, I will try that I will to need time and more exposures. I am thinking of going to 20-30 exposures to combine.


Leave a Reply

Categories

