Posted by: Michael | 10/04/2009

Vicki Goldberg’s Light Matters: Writings on Photography

I just started reading Vicki Goldberg’s Light Matters: Writings on Photography. I have not read a critical book on photography since I read Sontag’s On Photography.

I have a strange reaction to reading critical books on photography, as opposed to books on poetry or painting, they brother me.
I find I would rather look at images then read about the images.

What is strange is that I would sit down a talk with someone over beers or coffee about photographs; but reading feels different.
I think this is more of a failing in me than the book. Ah, one surprise is that there is no essay on Dorothy Lange, Ralph Gibson, Imogen Cunningham and Minor White or Edward Weston.

I will write more about the book and my reactions next week when I have finished reading it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

