Posted by: Michael | 12/04/2008

Janet Neushauser, Kentler International Drawing Space and Red Hook

RED HOOK STORIES
By Maureen McNeil
Photographs by Janet Neuhauser

I saw some photographs taken in the 1980’s of Red Hook and the people in the neighborhood taken by Janet Neuhauser. I liked them; many were exceptional especially of people. Getting shots of people is something I have found very difficult – I do not get close enough. Its interesting to see the difference in Brooklyn neighborhoods from 1980’s.

I have not read the book so I can not discuss the stories. I will order the book next week and try to see the show again tomorrow when it less crowded.

The images were obvious shot with film; you could see the beautiful grain. They were printed on archival inkjet paper; I kept wondering how they would look printed on fiber. No prices were posted.

Go see the show; Red hook is easy to get to by taking the water taxi.

Leave a Reply

Categories

