Posted by: Michael | 11/03/2008

ISO, Time and Gallagher’s Steak House

TWIS, a radio/podcast, is discussing time: is there a point at which time can no longer be divided? They had been discussing attoseconds when someone called and asked this question. My answer especially after reading two of the papers cited on the blog BackReaction would have been yes at Planck scale. However, one of the host, Dr. Kirsten Sanford, said that some
physicists reject time as a dimension; which actually left me puzzled with two questions which may be a single question:

How do they ‘related’ to time, do they believe it is just a description of space, a ‘ruler’?

Is time considered a real dimension as the three spatial dimensions or is it a mathematical construct?

My right hand is a mess, a reaction to photographic chemicals, even though I wear gloves. Gloves are great but sooner or later I get the stuff on me. I need to be more careful.

I’m still nailing down the developing time for Tri-x at 200 ISO in Rodinal at the moment I believe its 11 minutes with 15 secs. agitation at the beginning, 10 secs every two minutes until 9 minutes then agitation also at 10 minutes. I am developing two more rolls today to confirming this. Of cause this is for me, my tank, my agitation, my exposures, and the negatives I like, which tend toward grain and contrast. When I get confidence at 200 I go on to 400 and 1600. Why skip 800? The idea is if I can’t get what I’m looking for at 400 I probably also need more than 800; however I’ll have to see the results for 1600 it might be much too grainy and too high contrast for much use, though I doubt it. Also, maybe 1200 may work well in D-76 or Microdol-X.

Gallagher’s Steak House, W. 52

[Click on thumbnail for larger image.]

Gallagher’s Steak House

Leave a Reply

Categories

