Posted by: Michael | 28/02/2008

Brooklyn Bridge, Dumbo ca. 1980; Kathy Ryan, Michael Spector, Al Siegel, Frank Camp, Susan Faludi, Sam Solovitz and Perry Lang

The bridge looking down Washington Street towards Plymouth Street, ca. 1980.
There were still warehouses and factories. In the print you can read Washington on the street sign.

When this shot was taken I did not realize my family had been living in this neighborhood since about 1845. As far as I can tell the last of my family moved out about 1925.

Around 1979 I started running across the bridge every night at around 3:30 a.m. I worked nights at the N.Y. Times. I was a copyboy, which was basically an internal messenger in the newsroom. I worked with people like: Kathy Ryan, Michael Spector, Al Siegel, Frank Camp, Susan Faludi, Sam Solovitz and Perry Lang.

As for Sam he was a dear friend and my mentor, rabbi in New York speak, read his OBIT.

Brooklyn Bridge ca 1980

Responses

  1. […] Brooklyn Bridge, Dumbo ca. 1980, 28Feb08, michaeldcassidy.wordpress […]

  2. Wow, your family goes wayyy back there! Pretty interesting, Michael. I love the photo of the Brooklyn Bridge — all the different levels of light.

  3. thank you, man

  4. Hey Michael, can you contact me regarding this picture. Washington street with brooklyn bridge in background.

  5. Hi Michael,

    Did you take that photo of the Brooklyn Bridge? If so, do you have a larger original copy? I would really like to get it printed and framed for my room 🙂

    Hope to hear from you soon,
    Thanks,

    Dan.


Leave a Reply

Categories

