Posted by: Michael | 18/09/2007

The White Castle in the Sky

Its 7:40 p.m. and I haven’t left work yet. I’m starting to think that I won’t get out tonight and shot. Sooner or later I’ll get out at or early morning, maybe both.

I have 12 rolls of film sitting on my desk waiting to be developed, and a roll in each camera. So a lot of work when I get into the lab in a week or so.

The images I am putting online are scanned from negatives and prints. I haven’t decided yet which I like better. I started scanning negatives as ‘proofs.’ The scans gave me a different perspective than contact sheets. Though it is amazing what you can do with a bad negative in Photoshop.

One difference is that I scanned the prints as B&W while the negatives I scanned as RGB. My normal instinct is to scan RGB then work on the image and then convert it to B&W. That way I have as much data as possible to use. Using the same reasoning I scan at a fairly high resolution.

I’m putting up three images today, two reflections taken about 30 years ago and a shot of a cement plant in Red Hook taken a month ago. Lee Friedlander inspired the two reflections. Industrial sites are things I am drawn to; I wish I had a way to get on to the Greenpoint industrial site.

Both reflections were taken in Queens, New York. My first White Castle hamburger was with my grandmother. She had a White Castle close to her apartment.

[Click on the thumbnail to see larger image.]

White Castle

Cement Plant

Grid

Leave a Reply

Categories

