Posted by: Michael | 12/06/2008

Blockbuster yet again

Its been a tough two months, my mother died. I spent ten days with my sister at the hospital trying to decide whether to remove her breathing tube not. This is not a fun decision.

I have been reading about matrix multiplication, articles from Wikipedia. On reading a post on The Unapologetic Mathematician that discusses Kronecker product I went to Wikipedia and I’m now reading four or five articles on matrix. One of the things I am trying to find discover is how the algorithm for matrix multiplication was agreed upon. I do not see why row against column why not column against column, why not row against row? So I have been trying to discover why we decided this was the the proper method.

My real reading, real in the sense of a printed book, has been Tolstoy’s The Death of Ivan Ilyich and Goodwin’s Team of Rivals. I started reading Tolstoy because Team of Rivals was too big and heavy to read on the subway. Both have been interesting.

I’ve shot the Blockbuster on Court Street many times and have never real been satisfied. I am not sure I am satisfied with this image. I’ve another shot on the seven undeveloped rolls on my desk. Hopefully that undeveloped image or on reviewing my images I’ll find one that works, because it looks like it has been rented so the faded Blockbuster on top of the story will disappear soon – that is the whole image. I’ve been thinking I should crop the top of the image down to just below the shadow of the lights. I hate to think I’ve missed my chance; I should have shot more! Below I’ve added two more images; one is the original shot no cropping, the two others are different cropping I may do in the darkroom tomorrow or next week.

[Click on thumbnail to see larger image.]

Uncropped:

Uncropped Blockbuster.

First cropping:

Blockbuster, Court Str. btw DeGraw and Kane sts.

Second cropping:

Responses

  1. Hey Mike,

    I’m so sorry, didn’t know the whole story about your mother.

    And regarding Blockbuster, I would say the second cropping is the most pleasing to the eye. Either you should “lift” the camera if you want the lamps to fit or then leave them entirely out, so the second cropping looks the most peaceful and balanced at the moment.

    I still don’t know when I’ll return for more folding, which sucks, but hey, the exam is the most important at the moment. Take care!
    Nina


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

